Premed 101 Forums

Advice - 27 years, Comp Engg graduate, been working for 4 years

Hi folks!

I did my undergrad in computer Engineering (2005) and have been working since then in Seattle. I am thinking about going to medical school (I come back to this every few months). I will never get the satisfaction I need from staying in Engineering, so I am realizing that I should take the itch seriously.

I plan to start seriously volunteering to validate before making any serious decisions. However, I was wondering if this forum had any particular advice for my situation. My undergrad GPA is between 3.5 and 3.6 with some extra curriculars, but I have no research experience whatsoever. I also have no Bio/Chem pre-reqs but probably have the physics/math/humanities.

If I decide to make the jump, it would be to pursue clinical + research/policy.

Should I do another degree (masters + thesis)? Or just the two years of coursework? How bad does the non-research experience look? I could probably get decent letters of recommendation from Sr engineers at work, but I bet they don't count for much in academia.

What are good schools for pursuing research/policy on top of clinical? (other than UofT).

By the time I can start medical school, I will be 30. Any outright reality checks are welcome :)

Prior to moving to Seattle, I was an Ontario resident. Does this limit me to Ontario med schools? (which also seem to be the most competitive)

Thanks in advance! great forum!

Hi,

I don't see any issues with you pursueing medicine if that is what you want to do.

To be safe though, I would definitely start volunteering somewhere that gives you some clinical exposure before giving up your job / moving / starting school again. Who knows maybe you would be happy to continue in your current career, but enjoy volunteering doing something different in your free time.