Premed 101 Forums

What to do?

bro2k7

Hey,

I just moved to montreal from another province and plan on living here for a while to become a QC resident before applying for med at Mcgill. So I will be applying next year for admission in 2011. I have a Bachelors in Microbiology but no experience at all.

The problem is, I don't really have people I can ask for references from. I can ask my boss from my old job back home but that's all. I won't be able to get a letter from a prof either since none of them really knew me and plus, I will be out of school for a while. So I need to get to know some people who could be potential referees for me.

What are the best options for me? If I volunteer at one place for a while, that may be good. But what else can I do to find someone to write a reference? I want to use the year I have before applying as well as I can.

Thanks everyone.

Look around for work and experience!

Applying for a masters at McGill or Concordia may be a good option.

That's probably how best to use the year.

Start looking around for labs to join.

Volunteering at the Montreal General or Royal Vic are a must as well.

Do some work with some aid agency in the city if you don't want more school.

thanks for the ideas bonydoc, but you are right, I don't want to go back to school just yet, plus I don't think I can if I want to become a resident of QC.

I will definitely start volunteering at a hospital. Working with an aid agency sounds awesome too.

But could you tell me, how does one go about finding a lab job? I have pretty much zero experience in the field and don't really have good contacts in the city since I'm new here.

Hey,

I just moved to montreal from another province and plan on living here for a while to become a QC resident before applying for med at Mcgill. So I will be applying next year for admission in 2011. I have a Bachelors in Microbiology but no experience at all.