Premed 101 Forums

masters? any benefit?

Very few med schools will care that you did your masters. Those that do care might give you 0.1 boost to your cGPA of your undergrad but that's about it. I think it was Manitoba that gives PhD students a 0.2 boost. Keep in mind that universally pretty much all med schools will look at your undergrad GPA for admission processes. So there's much more benefit to raising your undergrad GPA by either doing another year or starting a new undergrad than there is doing a masters.

There is a separate "graduate package" to submit for U of T.

McMaster will give you a 1% bonus for a completed MSc, and a 4% bonus for a completed PhD.

Being a MSc student myself, I'm not expecting any benefit from being a graduate student!;)

Queens has a separate pool which has some advantages.

I think generally the advantage to a masters is not really pre-interview. Masters won't get you the normally rigidly adhered to GPA or MCAT scores you need, although maybe you might get a better letter of reference. What it can do I think is help at the interview itself.

What I was thinking was doing a Masters F/T to at least have a better GPA in a full courseload. Rather than starting another undergrad and doing a couple of years for the sake of just doing courses. I would have something at the end and hopefully they would look favorably on the full courseload.

If I knew that what I did in 1st year would come back to haunt me like this, things would have been different. Who knows when you are 19 that how you do in university will follow you forever!

It doesn't matter how well you do in masters... Med schools are really strict about basing their decision on your undergrad GPA. The only school i can think of you even pleading this case would probably be UofT but you'd have to publish quite a few papers to have a real shot of overriding your undergrad.