Premed 101 Forums

Backup plan Q - Masters vs. 5th year?

Hi!

I'm currently a 4th year student @ McGill, and I've just finished applying to OMSAS & and various other Canadian schools. However, as everybody else, I don't feel too good about this upcoming cycle. Here is some of my profile, if anyone is interested:

cGPA: ~ 3.72

Sci GPA ~ 3.75

ECs: various, president & exec of two clubs, lab TA, summer research, emergency volunteer in two hospitals, playing music for the church weekly and various other jobs.

MCAT: took it this september, I'm not sure how it went.

I'm in need of a back-up plan, I am not a very strong student, but inspired to go to medical school. What do you guys think? Master's or 5th year? I feel that with 5th year, there is no guarantee that I can get 4.0 GPA. With Master's I feel like I can get something published, I like my supervisor, I've gotten a whole load of results during the summer.

5th year can raise my cGPA (although not sure by how much) but what can a Master's degree do? I know that for schools such as U of T reviews grad students separately, but how about schools in US? Will Master's degree help at all for the US?

I never personally investigated the 5th year option, but if you really want to improve your GPA (which is quite good already!!! better than my Mcgill GPA ;))...go for the 5th year. The almighty GPA reigns supreme!

The word on the street is that Master's does not have the impact that it used to at many schools, both Canadian and American. However, with that degree and the experience gained from it you will have lots more material for autobiographical sketches, essays, interviews, etc.

I never personally investigated the 5th year option, but if you really want to improve your GPA (which is quite good already!!! better than my Mcgill GPA ;))...go for the 5th year. The almighty GPA reigns supreme!