Premed 101 Forums

Research Opportunities for High School Students

C2U2

I graduated from high school already and will begin university in Fall 2010. I want to gain some research experience between this time. Anyone know potential research opportunities/internship positions I can be involved/participate in?

Any input will be greatly appreciated. thx

I know that this isn't what you want to hear, but have a fun summer and get into research later. You have the rest of your life to do that. Try to find yourself an interesting and exciting way to spend your summer. This will help you stand out from other med students. Once you're in university and have an idea of your interests you can start looking into research positions. You'll be more qualified and better paid, too.

I know that this isn't what you want to hear, but have a fun summer and get into research later. You have the rest of your life to do that. Try to find yourself an interesting and exciting way to spend your summer. This will help you stand out from other med students. Once you're in university and have an idea of your interests you can start looking into research positions. You'll be more qualified and better paid, too.

^^ +1

10 char, apparently. Damn software!

No offense, but I don't know anyone who would hire a fresh out of high school graduate to do research. As someone who lives and breathes research, I would not trust a just graduated high school student to do any data analysis or even any sort of literature search (which involves way more than just a google search). Sorry. Go and enjoy your last true summer... I partied hard in Montreal the summer after I graduated high school. You should too.

I expect that will be a common (and fully justified) perspective. I can't imagine how a just graduated Grade 12 student would have anything approaching an adequate knowledge base to take on a research project.