Premed 101 Forums

Extra Year/ What type of GPA is enough?

nowiveseen

Is it okay to do a special year for US medschools?

I'm currently in 2nd year and my .

I'm predicting that by the end of 3rd year, my.

The reason for doing a special year is that if I don't get in at UWO after completing 3rd year on a conditional acceptance, then I can try again one more time. <--(You'll only understand this if you know western's gpa cutoffs policy)

Anyhow, how would american schools look at a person doing a special year?

-----

2nd portion

I'll probably have a 3.4 cGPA at the end of third year as I said. Is this a realistic GPA to gain acceptance as an international student?

What type of MCAT would I need to back a GPA like that up?

Which schools are 'low-tier'? What kind of GPA/MCAT do they ask from canadian applicants?

Thanks!

P.S. If you read my previous posts, you'll know my whole story.

I'm currently in 2nd year and my cGPA is 3.2.

I'm predicting that by the end of 3rd year, my cGPA might be 3.4 at it's highest.

The reason for doing a special year is that if I don't get in at UWO next year on a conditional acceptance, then I can try again one more time. <--(You'll only understand this if you know western's gpa cutoffs policy)

-----

2nd portion

I'll probably have a 3.4 cGPA at the end of third year as I said. Is this a realistic GPA to gain acceptance as an international student?

Which schools are 'low-tier'? What kind of GPA/MCAT do they ask from canadian applicants?

Thanks!

Hold up for a second. UWO requires a 4 year degree.