Premed 101 Forums

Post-bac vs. Master's degree

I guess the journey to medicine is quite long for some ...

I have been working for a couple of years now and need your opinions on my next choice/route.

My current AMSAS gpa is about 3.49 ... understandably I have given up all hope to get accepted in Canada, which works perfectly well for my bf who is a US citizen and would rather have me move there. :)

I have been accepted to a course based masters program (Mbiotech UofTM) to use as a backup and to improve on my med school application

MCAT: currently taking Kaplan class so don't know yet (yes, I had to dish out the money for the class to keep me on schedule with the studying which I had been unsuccessful to do by myself)

My other option is to take a 2-year condensed nursing degree to increase my gpa (as well as use as backup), which I know won't be easy as the condensed degree is quite hectic.

My question to you guys is which route would be most beneficial to my application (masters or 2-year nursing UG). Being a course based masters I won't have any publications. I do have previous research experience however.

Qst 2 - If I take a couple of courses during my Masters that do not go towards the program, will these be included in UG gpa?

Thanks in advance everybody for sharing your opinions and experiences.

Thanks Keith for your opinion.

I am leaning heavily towards this option although it is very PAINFUL to have to say No to a nice program such as the MBiotech.

Having said that, I want to make sure that both years from nursing will count towards my Ugpa as I know there is some concern regarding "full course load" during nursing.

Anyone can shed some light into this?

Thanks Keith for your opinion.

I am leaning heavily towards this option although it is very PAINFUL to have to say No to a nice program such as the MBiotech.