Premed 101 Forums

Online Courses at Athabasca University

I am in my first year of a 2 year MSc. program and looking to apply to med in the next cycle. I took a full course load in every year of my HBSc. and no summer courses. I am missing a few pre-requisities to some schools (ie. physics, english, 2nd part of Ochem) and I was thinking to maybe take them online this summer to increase the schools I can apply to. My question is: will taking these pre-reqs on their own, not in a full course load, and outside of undergrad hurt me? I am counting on my last two year's GPA (3.85) and weighting formulas...so will these extra pre-reqs look bad?

Thanks

Agreed. I tried doing English upgrading while writing my MSc thesis and it was brutal. Also, don't count on weighting too much because some schools are dropping that. I know U of A has and only looks at your cGPA and the average for those who got interviews this year was a 3.78!

I wouldn't try to cram them all in the one summer. Your supervisor will notice the lower productivity (no matter how awesome he is...and I know he is) and could set your research back as well (no longer a 2yr MSc, which btw, good luck with that!). Maybe get the OChem and Phys done this summer and do english over the next year. Also consider going to Mount Royal for these courses...not AU...you will likely need more face to face support in these courses then you will for Engl.

Also, nice seeing you on the forum ;)

Hey, sorry to bump this thread after it was answered, but I have a question related to the OP's....is it worth bunching pre-req's together? By that I mean, would it be feasible to take the biochem courses at the same time as the organic courses?

• 1 month later...
I've been taking a bunch in a very condensed timeframe... pm me if you have any athabasca logistical questions.... like timelines and the such.