Premed 101 Forums

MCgill gen surg

• 2 weeks later...

McGill is actually one of the worst general surgery programs in the country.

I did an elective in general surgery there 2-3 years back at Royal Vic.

The hospital was so run down. The computer system they used for patient care was prehistoric (like MS DOS format). Their service is so inefficient. As an elective student I was not to communicate important patient information to the senior resident or talk with the staff. I had to update the junior resident, who would then talk to the senior resident, who would then talk to the staff. It was run like a military operation. Kinda sad and funny at the same time. They are really behind on the times, both in equipment and management.

My experience was shared by many of other students on the general surgery tour. Needless to say, most of us ranked McGill near the bottom of our rank lists.

Don't take our word for it, do an elective there, and you will see for yourself

one of the best in the country

Funny. I thought that for you to make this kind of comment, you must be a McGill general surgery resident, or at least a quebec gen surg resident because any other resident would not make the same claim. But as it turns out from your posts, you're not even in med school yet. Anyways, thanks for your wise and knowledgeable comment about general surgery.

McGill is actually one of the worst general surgery programs in the country.

I did an elective in general surgery there 2-3 years back at Royal Vic.