Premed 101 Forums

Med School Relationships

I'm really sorry but I just had to post and needed a bit of attention

The best physician I have met in my life told me : A good doctor is a happy doctor

. I used to overthink relationships relatively to med school. Time spent with my gf was not calculated in hours but in pages of textbook I should have read during that time. I just came to a conclusion and I'm not an expert, nor a god, just wanted to share it.

Medical School was a pretext for me. If I was in Law, Law school would be my excuse. I know I had a lot of studying to do, but I thinked : If I can't live my life during Medical School, Residency will be another excuse, as well for the Fellowship, and finally for the real Medical Practice.

Think of Medical School as a life test. They test our ability to study. They test our ability to interact with patients.

This is how my toughts evolved, and I think, would have evolved :

* I only need to get through Undergrad since it's what counts for getting in Medical School

* I only need to get through the 2 first years of core science in Medical School since after I'll be on the field

* I only need to get through the 2 last years of field experience in Medical School since after I'll be a resident

* I only need to get through the 5 years of residency since after, I'll be a physician

* I only need to get through the 2 years fellowship since after, I'll be done

* I only need to get though the first years as an MD since after, I'll have a good reputation

Medical School is a School. We pass our lives saving's other lives. I think we deserve to enjoy our own's life sometimes. I know it's cheesy, but If you loose the person you really loved, you can have the hottest degree in town, but you'll not be able to be 20-25-30 again.

Moral of the story :

1. Damn I was Bored

2. Live during Medical School

3. If you still have exams, get the **** out and go study

Wow, well said.