Premed 101 Forums

curious: how many people have 1st author pulication?

Genemo

Very, very few people applying to medical school will have first author publications. I have several, but that's only because I did a Master's before I decided to go into med. I would say cases like mine are by far the minority. Don't get all wound up trying to find opportunities for first-authorships. If you're looking into research opportunities, try to find things that interest and excite you, and look at pubs as little bonuses that may or may not result from doing work you enjoy.

I wouldn't expect a first author publication by just doing an NSERC for one summer. In my three years of summer work, I didn't get any. If you worked consistently in the same lab over a couple years - maybe. But most undergrads really don't have the time to put in the work to get a first authorship. The lab work is only a small part of the whole process.

That being said, I do have first author publications going in to med school. But I got those during grad school

quality of work and publications are really hard to correlate. Some research is very fast to do. A sexy publication can come out of very little work if its novel and interesting. Other times (and more often the case), it takes longer. I've been working on one study that started in 2008 that is just being written up for publication NOW.

So, long story short, I'll agree with a previous poster that it really depends on the nature of the research how easy/hard it will be to get your work published.

It doesnt look easy to me to get a 1st author publication anywhere.

No, it's not easy.

I wonder how many people actually have this?

I have a couple, but I'm a grad student. It's possible to get one during undergrad, but not likely. There's a lot of luck involved, no matter how good you are.

If I may ask another question, should a student expect 1st author publication by doing NSERC?