Premed 101 Forums

Coming to Canada for Medicine

You want to apply as a Permanent Resident, I have no idea if you will be a PR as soon as you land. Although I have no knoweldge whatsoever about this, I assume that once your grades are assessed through the procedure used to determine studies abroad, you will be dealt with as any other student.

Assuming that you will not have your status as PR during the current application cycle starting very soon, the issu7e is what to do with this year. It would be helpful for you to dsetermine almost immediately the value of your grades in Canada so that you will know if you need to do fiurther undergrad studies to help you. Also, you will want to determine what interests you in terms of volunteering, what is available and you should get started in wehatever intertests you anad is available. It need not be organized volunteering but this is probably the easiest path to follow..anything that interests you where you can develop and grow and show your compassion, deediciation, leadership skills, e.g., soup kitchen, working with disabled, elderly, the blind, disadvantaged kids, in a hospital, coaching sports, etc.

And welcome to Canada, and to this forum!!

Cheers!

I'm Karl, 20 years old, and I recently graduated with a degree of BSc in Biochemistry from the University of the Philippines. This October, my family and I are moving to Canada as my parents got hired to work there.

I plan to take up medicine. If we weren't moving to Canada, I would've been a student now in a medical school here, because I've already been accepted (albeit I declined it since we were migrating).

We are landing in Edmonton, Alberta, and I am looking at University of Alberta as a good school where I hope I can take up medicine. I will also apply in UBC, UofC, maybe even UofT and UofM, all things considered.

Here are my queries: