Premed 101 Forums

Internal medicine subspecialty training in the US

Hey,

I am a canadian medical graduate doing my three year internal medicine training here in Canada and was thinking about doing further subspecialty training in the US (i.e. in cardio, nephro, resp etc.) Do you know of anyone who has done this? More importantly do you know if we have to have our USMLE steps done? I unfortunately did not write my step 1 as a medical student and I think doing it as a resident is quite difficult esp. if you want to do well. I have heard conflicting views regarding this. Some claim that your LMCC's are considered equivalent and there is no need to write the USMLE's. I'd appreciate any advice on this matter.

Cheers

It varies by state. Some have reciprocity agreements, and will accept the LMCC exams in lieu of the USMLE, others won't. The type of visa available (J-1 vs H1-B; H1B allows moonlighting and is preferred) may also depend on having passed the USMLE. The only way to reliably get this information is to contact the state licensing board and ask directly; there's lots of misinformation/out of date info online.

Hey,

I am a canadian medical graduate doing my three year internal medicine training here in Canada and was thinking about doing further subspecialty training in the US (i.e. in cardio, nephro, resp etc.) Do you know of anyone who has done this? More importantly do you know if we have to have our USMLE steps done? I unfortunately did not write my step 1 as a medical student and I think doing it as a resident is quite difficult esp. if you want to do well. I have heard conflicting views regarding this. Some claim that your LMCC's are considered equivalent and there is no need to write the USMLE's. I'd appreciate any advice on this matter.

Cheers

3 year internal medicine training? Like a 3 year IM residency? How's that possible? Isn't IM 5 years in Canada?

• 2 weeks later...