Premed 101 Forums

Yet Another "Chances" Question

Hey everyone

I guess everyone is somewhat used to people posting their stats and asking about how good they are, etc. But yeah...unfortunately I really need opinions.

I'm a Canadian undergraduate, looking to apply to Ontario schools primarily (due to my degree I couldn't get the required biochem credit for UBC, although admittedly I haven't done much research on the schools). I missed this cycle's applications because I thought my MCAT was going to be crap (just received the score a few days ago), but yeah...here's what I got:

cGPA: 3.995 (I'm currently in third year, 4.0 for first year, 3.99 for second year).

MCAT: PS:12 , VR: 9, BS: 12, WS: S

Research: NSERC USRA during the summer, currently working on an abstract for a conference, I should have a paper out by the next cycle.

Extracurriculars: one year and ongoing volunteering at senior's home, president of a school club, exec for an athletic club last year, played kendo. Plus a bunch of other crap.

I've been told that what I have are competitive, but that 9 in verbal is really bugging me (granted I expected much worse). Any thoughts? I have no problem with doing a MSc before applying either, seeing as I don't mind research so much.

I also have no geographical advantages.

Thanks for the advice!

For the Ontario Schools:

NOSM - ZERO chance (in 3rd yr)

Queen's - essentially near Zero chance (rare yr has been 9)

UWO - ZERO chance (in 3rd yr)

Toronto - good chance for interview - but in 3rd yr and research not that mature yet and ECs average to weak

Ottawa - excellent chance for interview

McMaster - very low chance, but not zero...

My guess- 1-2 interviews in Ontario - with maybe 30-40% chance of getting in somewhere. Good luck

For the Ontario Schools:

NOSM - ZERO chance (in 3rd yr)

Queen's - essentially near Zero chance (rare yr has been 9)

UWO - ZERO chance (in 3rd yr)