Premed 101 Forums

Pre-med programs in Canada - rank/advice

kanapatski

Good day everyone.

I am a senior Ontario student. Of course, as most people here I am pursuing a career of a doctor. I just applied to

McMaster Health Science

UofT Life Science

McGill biomed

Western biomed

Queens Science

Ottawa Health Science (early accepted)

Ottawa Biomed (early accepted)

and several schools in the usa

As you see I applied to a lot of schools. My dream is to attend a Tier 1 Medical school in USA, otherwise in Canada. Soon I ll be working on my GPA, MCAT, research, and extra curriculars. The question is. Which programs would prepare me best to ace MCATs and help me to enroll a great medical school. Also since I am planning to spend 4 years doing undergrad it'd be nice to stay somewhere with good atmosphere.

I have heard that UofT lowers your GPA and medschools chances decrease, I'veheard that hamilton sucks, I have heard that ottawa is not recognizable, I have heard western you do not learn a lot, I have heard queens is boring. And of course I've heard good things. So, back to the question: rank them in terms of quality of preparation for mcats/med-school, atmosphere, and GPA possibility. So, where to go? Thanks everyone.

dude, firstly, no one is going to / is able to 'rank' those programs/schools... secondly, all that you heard were huge generalizations, and a couple just sound foolish (i.e. you don't learn anything at western and queens is boring?)

it would be very difficult to find a university in north america that did not adequately prepare you for the mcat... the mcat is fairly basic sciences + verbal reasoning + writing critically, and it doesn't take a harvard degree to prepare you for that... all of the programs/schools your mentioned will be more than enough to lay the groundwork for studying for the mcat.... likewise, there is likely no significant difference in how those programs will prepare you for med school...