Premed 101 Forums

Med school after Physician Assistant program?

Has anyone heard of the case where someone completes their physician assistant program and then applies directly to med school and gets in?

I was a nurse practitioner prior to entering medicine. Don't know if any PA has entered medicine after the PA program (because it's so new), but certainly it can be done.

Has anyone heard of the case where someone completes their physician assistant program and then applies directly to med school and gets in?

There are indeed PAs who end up going back to med school to do MDs. I have spoken to physicians who were PAs (this is in the USA mind you, I have yet to meet one in Canada) and they told me the reason they did it is because they were tired of doing the exact same job as the physicians while getting paid half as much and not having the same status. But according to the American statistics it is quite rare for a PA to pursue an MD and the PA job satisfaction scores are quite high. Here is an example of someone in their third year of an MD program who left to become a PA:

http://www.mypatraining.com/pa-vs-md-meet-sundance-shes-done-both

(keep in mind that her programs are different from the Mac MD and PA programs)

There is nothing wrong with a PA becoming an MD. But if you already know you want to be an MD, using a PA program as a route to an MD is an odd choice in my opinion.

There is also the subject of bridging programs, one of which has now started up in the USA.

There is nothing precluding that. But if you already know you want to do an MD, why not just try for that in the first place? If you have a shot at getting into the PA program then you have a shot at getting into the MD program so long as you have done three years of coursework.