Premed 101 Forums

Is it possible to take undergrad (prereq) courses while in grad school?

Hi everyone,

I am currently in 4th year and will be graduating in June. I took all the prerequisites for med school except English and Organic Chemistry. I have not yet written the MCAT and will be focusing on getting that out of the way in the summer.

The thing is that I have applied for graduate school for the Fall session and will hopefully be starting that in September. I am an Ontario resident but would like to apply to as many schools as possible in Canada and the States when I am in the last year of my masters degree. I am wondering if it is possible to take online undergraduate courses while being in graduate school. Is that even allowed? Has anyone done that and is it feasible (workload etc)? I am just worried that by not having these courses completed, I will be limiting myself to only a few schools (especially the OOP and US schools). What should I do? Would be worthwhile to take these courses? (I just don't want to do them in the summer and just focus on the MCAT to make sure that I get a good score).

Also, I have heard about Athabasca but has anyone done either english or organic chemistry online or through distance education from another school? Any recommendations on that?

Thanks!

Thanks Para_D for the input!

I could try doing english over a couple of weeks in the summer since I guess organic chemistry might be too much to get done in a short period of time.

I am not really familiar with how their system works....can you start the course at anytime?

Anyone else who might have done undergrad courses while in grad school? Any other inputs on the situation? Is it even worth it to have those courses done?