Premed 101 Forums

How good are my ECs?

Mugenn

Hey guys,

I read the sticky about not starting anymore 'what are my chances' threads, but I need some perspective as to whether I should apply to meds next fall or not (I am in third year now) - assuming I do decent on MCATs this summer. My best 2 years wGPA is 3.85 and UofT wGPA is 3.9. Overall about 3.8..

So my main problem is my ECs. Please let me know if this would cut it:

- 1 international conference poster presentation

- second author on another poster (in a different field)

- (most likely also second author on paper in medium-impact journal (factor of about 15))

- 1 summer working in industry + 2 years research at university

- editor of journal of undergrad life sci at uoft for 1 year

- work experience: pharmacy assistant, tour guide at real estate agency, waitressing (2 yrs), wonderland (summer), baskin robbins (long time ago)

- tutoring for 2 years in chm/physics

- orientation leader twice

- other minor involvements (i.e., 2 years in cultural club - non -leadership though, shadowing research-surgeries, helping out with teaching workshops, etc.)

So, what do you think, what are my chances with this? I realize I lack clinical experience (I would volunteer starting this summer) - overall, worth investing the time on applying now or should I wait another year to build resume?

Hey guys,

I read the sticky about not starting anymore 'what are my chances' threads, but I need some perspective as to whether I should apply to meds next fall or not (I am in third year now) - assuming I do decent on MCATs this summer. My best 2 years wGPA is 3.85 and UofT wGPA is 3.9. Overall about 3.8..

So my main problem is my ECs. Please let me know if this would cut it:

- 1 international conference poster presentation

- second author on another poster (in a different field)

- (most likely also second author on paper in medium-impact journal (factor of about 15))