Premed 101 Forums

Help prevent a derailment

Hey guys, I am here for some advice and I apologize for the cheesy title. So here's where I am right now. I am a 4th year student with an OMSAS GPA of ~3.84. I won't bore you with why I want to be a doctor and yada, yada. I just want some hard facts. So here's a little back story:

So let me begin with saying that I have no EC in the past 4 years. I am not involved with any school clubs, sports, volunteering etc.

When I first entered university I decided that I would be paying my entire tuition without the help of my parents or OSAP. So for summer of 12th grade I worked full time as a sales representative and for the first summer of my undergrad I was working full time as a grocer. During second year I secured a work-term at a small biotech company. The term was scheduled to be from September - April 2010 but I was laid off somewhere around November 2009 (the company went bust). During this period I enrolled late for the winter semester and this forced me to take a bunch of electives. In the summer of third year (2010) I secured another full-time work-term as a clinical research assistant at a mental health institute.

So fast forward about 10 months and here I am now.

The plus side:

1. I have zero debt and a bit of savings.

The down side:

1. I had to make up for all those pre-reqs that I couldn't take last winter and make up for them this year. As a result, I only have 50% of my course load corresponding to my year of study.

2. I still have no EC

I will not use my "working to pay off tuition" thing as an excuse as to why I don't have any EC. It is mainly due to my lack of interest in regards to group activities and laziness. I am not an extroverted individual but I wouldn't describe myself as introverted either. I find patient interaction intrinsically rewarding but I prefer working alone without co-workers.