Premed 101 Forums

Switching professions to dentistry

Hi,

I have a bachelor in Architectural Sciences and I am serious about changing professions to Dentistry. My GPA for the four years undergrad is:

(Y1) 3.4, (Y2) 3.3, (Y3) 3.4, (Y4) 3.8

I still have to take all my science prerequisite courses and write the DAT and hope to do excellent in both to compensate for my lower GPA’s.

Would a total 3.7 GPA and a good DAT be enough for Canadian Schools (UofT and UWO) or am I supper optimistic?

Would it be more realistic to enroll into a new bachelor?

thank you

have u considered the states? i heard of someone with a 3.3 gpa getting into columbia dental school, but they had something like a 25 AA on their DAT. UWO and UofT dont care about ur DAT as much, it's only 10% to 15% of the application. on the other hand, GPA is worth like 60-65%. i think ur best chance would be to rock ur DAT and apply to the states. u could try applying here but it's quite competitive in terms of GPA. sorry to be a downer lol

Thank you for your quick replies ...

Would starting a new bachelors be a considerable option?

Aside from the high tuition in the States what are other disadvantages for going there?

I would start a new bachelors and apply to schools that take your best 2 years for gpa (UWO) and best 3 years (UofT). Your year 4 is good so get another good year in your new bachelors and apply.

Aside from the high tuition in the States what are other disadvantages for going there?

- u would have to move

- application requires personal statement, ECs and shadowing (u cant rely solely on gpa, dat and interview)

- bigger classes

You guys are supper helpful ... thank you

I would start a new bachelors and apply to schools that take your best 2 years for gpa (UWO) and best 3 years (UofT). Your year 4 is good so get another good year in your new bachelors and apply.