Premed 101 Forums

Medical School applications...THE REALITY

Hello premed101 forums. I am a grade 12 student and will be starting my med school "process" if you can call it that...next fall 2011 at Mcmaster for science. Ok now, I understand that is is really HARD to get into medicine in Canada, but I mean is it so hard that it isn't even worth the try?

Eevery university student I ask advice from laughs in my facing saying that the med school hope will disappear? WHY? ..I mean all you are applying to med school aren't you? what's with all the discouragement that I am getting from the people I asked? I understand that I have to be realistic but I mean just because something is hard doesn't mean it is impossible....

So I wanted to know the reason behind this negativity..is it because its hard to get a good GPA? I mean I was told that university is hard, but I was also told the same about elementary, middle school and high-school and in all those I adjusted just fine (at least 80s in all courses) So I just wanted to know the reality...and the story behind the negativity.

Thank you in advance :)

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First day of BIO150 at UofT, Prof. Barrett asked the class who wants to go into medicine. I'd estimate about 80% raised their hands, in a 1000 person class. It's about a 1:10 chance to get into medicine in Ontario.

That's where the negativity comes from. It's extremely competitive.

People do get into medical school though. So don't be discouraged. Just work hard, play the game, and see what becomes of it.

First day of BIO150 at UofT, Prof. Barrett asked the class who wants to go into medicine. I'd estimate about 80% raised their hands, in a 1000 person class. It's about a 1:10 chance to get into medicine in Ontario.

That's where the negativity comes from. It's extremely competitive.

People do get into medical school though. So don't be discouraged. Just work hard, play the game, and see what becomes of it.