Premed 101 Forums

How to study in Medical School?

Hello fellow posters!

So, I have a question about how best to study in med school. I am in my first year at U of T, and I am still learning how to study. I thought I'd have it down by now, but apparently not, hence this post.

In undergrad, I was a text-book learner. Yes, I'd rely on my notes, but I also relied on reading text books to complete my understanding. I am now finding that I have no time to study from textbooks!! Class makes up he bulk of my day, and after class there is a lot of other stuff to be done (osces, extracurrics, eating and sleeping...no joke I love my sleep).

We are in our brain and behaviour block, and I feel the need to whip open a neuroanatomy text book and read the relevant chapters. However, each chapter is quite dense and looking at the size of it, makes me feel overwhelmed, because I think not only do I have notes to read, but now I have chapters to read as well all before my exam! {It may be good to know that neuroanat is brand new to me!! hence my shaky understanding of the basics, that makes me want to read a textbook and solidify my understanding}.

So how do you guys study? So far I've been half-assing my text book reading, and have been half-assing my notes. Where I really begin studying is when I get sample exams and focus on those questions. So far so good, for that method has been working (focussing on exam questions), but I feel that this method may fail me soon.

Any advice?

Thanks everyone! :)

I used mostly notes and Toronto notes in pre-clerkship. The profs should put the important stuff in the notes so it's prefiltered.

Clerkship and residency it's almost all books, journal articles and guidelines. There aren't really any "notes" per say.