Premed 101 Forums

Questions on prerequisites for PreMed

Naruto123

Hello, I am an high school student sec 5 who has been accepted in Health Science because I want to become a doctor. I do know that it's extremely difficult and I want to manage in the first strike so here are my questions :

1. What are the other prerequisites the University look at when you apply excluding the CRC, extra curricular activites and volunteer hours?

2. What kind of extra curricular activities and volunteering are good?

Up until now, thanks to my high school, I have done this:

10 hours of Homework tutoring

10 hours of library helping

25 hours of vunlunteering during swine flu of last year

Is that helpful?

Thank you in advance.

Hi and welcome to our forum;)

For the prerequisites, you should only at this section: http://www.mcgill.ca/medadmissions/applying/categories/cegep-quebec

If you complete the Health Science program, you should be fine.

Don't forget that your R score needs to be competitive.

Successful applicants generally have an R score above 34.0 (average approximately 35.5). Applicants with a R score below 32.0 are rarely considered.

As for the extracurricular activities and volunteering, you have to do things you enjoy. The admissions committee wants to see who YOU are and what you can achieve. You have to show them that you have the potential to become a physician and that you want to. Don't forget that they prefer well-rounded students.

What you did during high school is a good start, but I believe you need more than that. Long term commitment is also important. You still have time, so don't worry;)

You should also take a look at the 3 questions at the bottom of the page: http://www.mcgill.ca/medadmissions/what-we-look

Hello, I am an high school student sec 5 who has been accepted in Health Science because I want to become a doctor. I do know that it's extremely difficult and I want to manage in the first strike so here are my questions :