Premed 101 Forums

Caribbean or Re-apply?

Okay so here is my story -

I graduated last year. I had an interview last year at UofT however it didn't work out after. So I decided to wait again and re-apply. This year I got an interview from Queen's and a couple of schools from the states (I applied to all out of province schools, in USA, and in Ontario). However at this point, I stand on a waitlist at Wayne State (US), Saint Louis University School of Medicine (US) and at Queen's.

Now at this point, I really don't know if I will get accepted off any of these waitlists. If not, should I be considering carribbean at this stage? (I mean I have been out of school for 1 year, I didn't start a masters program and I feel like this year has completely gone to waste as I have only worked for about 6 months of it working as a clinical research assistant and teaching for an MCAT prep company).

My stats are as follows: 34Q MCAT (PS 12, VR 10, BS 12, WSQ) and 3.85 cGPA (top two years 3.96, only my last semester of 4th year was bad because I thought I would get in at that point) ECs: NSERC, good volunteering, 4th year thesis, etc. fairly average

So at this point - should I just go to Carribbean? or are there any other options for me?

I'd apply again if I were you. Your stats are good and you're getting interviews. I know several people in my class who were shot down 2 or 3 times, only to eventually get in. I'm not sure if you want to go down the Caribbean route yet - from what I understand, its not as easy to get a residency spot here after being in the Caribbean (you'll want to double check this statement).