Premed 101 Forums

Yet another, what are my chances thread

Hi,

I'm a current UBC student, and would like input from students who have applied to Dent, gotten in, or just about anyone who has a shred of knowledge!

My stats:

-Completed 3 years, 1st year was abysmal so that will be the one to be dropped.

-Year 2 and year 3, averages were high 70 and low 80.

-Year 4 will for sure be high 80's.

I'm looking at anywhere between 78-84 for my cGPA once I'm done.(With the first year dropped)

-I have over 100 hours of shadowing experience in a dental office.

-I have 4 very long term volunteer commitments, which have progressively increased in responsibilities ect.

-I have excellent co-op terms in research, and entry-level management in industry.

- I still have to take the DAT, but I will be able to put the time and effort into it. The PAT section is a piece of cake for me( I am in engineering and have done much more complex design).

A few questions:

1) Maybe i'm wrong since I haven't seen the application itself, but it doesn't seem that UBC Dentistry cares at all about any extra-curricular involvements?

2)Does anyone have any more specific strategies for Letters of Reference?

3) In the worst case scenario, that my 4th year average isn't high 80's, I will end up with a cGPA of ~79. Would that, accompanied by a good DAT score give me a shot?

Thanks for your help in advance:D

A few questions:

1) Maybe i'm wrong since I haven't seen the application itself, but it doesn't seem that UBC Dentistry cares at all about any extra-curricular involvements?

counts for like ~ 10% of your entire app [just an estimate]

2)Does anyone have any more specific strategies for Letters of Reference?

heard getting good letters from dentistry/related field profs may be a plus

3) In the worst case scenario, that my 4th year average isn't high 80's, I will end up with a cGPA of ~79. Would that, accompanied by a good DAT score give me a shot?