Premed 101 Forums

I can't cook!!

Hey Everyone,

I believe I'm perfectly capable of cooking, however I haven't had much practice since my awesome mother always has food ready on the table by the time I come home from work or school. I know, I am spoiled :D But now that I'm moving out and living on my own I thought I'd ask for some help from people on this forum on anything related to cooking, from cooking techniques to recipes!

Another thing I want to accomplish from this thread besides being able to feed myself, is to prove my boyfriend wrong when he says that the women of my generation cannot cook :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance!!

I'm not very good at cooking either and meat freaks me out to cook it.

However, even *I* have had successful dishes with a cookbook I got from Christmas that is published by Better Homes. It's a hardcover book that covers the basics of everything, many of which are illustrated with pictures. It's a godsend to people that are not the best cooks!

I'm currently a dietetic intern so maybe I could help a little!

Dietitians of Canada have some recipes up:

http://www.dietitians.ca/Your-Health/Plan-Shop-Cook/Cook-Healthy.aspx

And they also give suggestions of some good nutritious cookbooks:

http://www.dietitians.ca/Nutrition-Resources-A-Z/Fact-Sheet-Pages(HTML)/Meal-Planning-and-Cooking/Good-Cookbooks-for-Healthy-Eating.aspx

This magazine is free and can be a good resource. I've used a couple of recipes out of it and they have all been delicious:

http://www.tdn-digital.com/digital.shtml

Can I mention crockpots? You can get a small one for not that much money. And yes it takes a bit of time in the morning, but basically you throw everything in, and when you come home at night you have a very tasty meal (one of the best ways for beginner cooks to start off). There are many websites that have crockpot recipes http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/chicken_sweet_potato_stew.html