Premed 101 Forums

Trying to Understand the Whole Process

Thanks for checking out my thread. Hopefully you guys can help me out!

First of all, I think I should give you a little background information.

I am a student in Southern Ontario entering my last year of high school. I have volunteered for several different organizations, including Special Olympics Canada. I also have participated in sports both in and outside of school. I'm also fluent in french and will be graduating with a dual diploma (one in enligsh, one in french). The average grade for my top six classes is an 88, with Biology, Chemistry and Physics being 85,90 and 88 respectively.

I have a few questions about studying abroad in Europe:

#1) What is the actual process to become a doctor in Europe?(I know that it's not exactly the same as the 4-year undergrad/4-year med-school method here in Canada and in the U.S) ie. I've heard of three year bachelor programs for biology or other courses, but, i've also heard of 5/6 year programs available directly after high school in the U.K

#2) In what countries do I need to pass an official language test? I am aware that the U.K, France and Germany require this (the first two not being a problem) What other countries have this?

#3) What are my options after I become a doctor in Europe? Can I practise in a foreign language country (aka not in the U.K) as an english doctor? How about coming back to Canada?

#4) Are my grades good enough to be accepted in Europe? What are my chances in North America?

PS: I've pretty much narrowed down my options country-wise to the U.K, Ireland, France, the Netherlands, Germany or Spain, but if you've got other recommendations let me hear them! If you've studied or are studying in any of these countries let me know their differences.

Sorry about the long thread guys, I've looked all over and done some research but I still don't get the whole picture. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!