Premed 101 Forums

Quebec's residents salary

Hi!

Im a new medical student in Quebec, and these days im calculating for my financial budget. I'd like to evaluate the approximate amount of salary that an average quebec resident would earn to decide whether or not i'll need to apply for a line of credit. The numbers i've searched all indicate approximated 50K, but im not sure if these numbers are also accurate in Quebec, anybody?

Hi!

Im a new medical student in Quebec, and these days im calculating for my financial budget. I'd like to evaluate the approximate amount of salary that an average quebec resident would earn to decide whether or not i'll need to apply for a line of credit. The numbers i've searched all indicate approximated 50K, but im not sure if these numbers are also accurate in Quebec, anybody?

I think it's significantly less in QC? One of the reasons the residents are on strike as far as I know.

You can find the annual salary for residents on the carms website.

http://www.carms.ca/eng/r1_program_salaries_e.shtml#QC

Gross annual

Resident 1 Salary*

$ 41 355

It's less than the other provinces. NFLD is somewhere around $42k, Alberta is $54k, everyone else is somewhere in between.

NL has raised the PGY1 salary to 52k or so. It was renegotiated this year. Benefits of being a have province I guess.

Also, concerning the loans and bursaries, why does most people prefer to have a line of credit instead of a loans and bursaries? And just to make sure, they said that the loans should be paid starting 6 months after your studies, but by studies they mean end of residence right?

Expect that salary to increase significantly for QC.

Hopefully. The federation of residents (FMRQ) is negotiating the next contract, as the previous one expired last march. Residents are using different measures to put pressure on the government to change the salary & working conditions which hopefully lead to a better income compared to the national average.