Premed 101 Forums

Law Student Interested in Med

I realize my background is relatively unorthodox, as I'd imagine the majority of people on here are science undergrads hoping to do med after their degree. I haven't done too much research into the admissions process for med, but was initially very interested in pursuing it before going the social sciences route through undergrad. I'm enjoying law and doing well, but imagining an entire career built around it has me second-guessing my decision... A lot of it focuses on conflict and wealth-generation with the looming requirement to clock billable hours. Though med of course has just as much (if not more) stress, I think in the long run a lifetime of this sort of work will leave me unfulfilled, and I'm starting to seriously consider an alternate career path.

Mostly what I'm hoping for is some advice as to how my background might fare in the admissions processes in general (I realize each is very different, and made sure to check out the threads stickied above), and what some people might suggest. I'll start with my background:

I'm currently a second-year law student with my BA in English and philosophy. I finished with an A- average at UBC, and did well (92nd percentile) on my LSAT, along with having had a good deal of extra-curricular involvement in environmental advocacy. I've taken very few hard sciences courses since high school, though, save for some marine bio and botany classes. Still, I've always enjoyed bio, and did very well in those classes. One of my biggest questions is whether it's possible to pick up the pre-requisites for med without completing a second 4-year degree altogether? I'm planning to finish law school if only to pay off my debts, and would likely be taking courses in the evenings or by correspondence, and a full degree would make this very difficult.