Premed 101 Forums

*Semester off for Paramedic training?

Guest Ian Wong

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*Mike

Date:***1/29/2001 10:51 am*PST

I am in my last year of high school, and wish to become a physician through the local University here in Newfoundland. I work as a Lifegaurd / Crewleader at a local pool, and have been training in many first aid / emergency service courses throughout my high school career. I am very interested in this type of work, and am considering taking the first semester off University to do a Level I Paramedics course at a local hospital (where the Medical school is located.) I volunteer at the hospital and also at the RLSSC (Royal Lifesaving Society Canada.) I'm hearing alot of different opinions about doing this, all the their pros and cons. Even though I don't want to be a Paramedic for the rest of my life, I would still like to have the training, and I'm told that it would look good on my Med. application. Is this a good idea?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Mike

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*dl

Date:***2/16/2001 10:51 am*PST

I don't know much about this, but I don't think it would be looked upon negatively at all. I think being a paramedic would be a great thing to have on your application. Obviously that is just my opinion, but I see only good in doing that.

Good luck!

• 1 year later...

hi

i'm thinking about being a paramedic but I dont know what courses I need before I finish high school or what college or university I should go to that offers the training

thanks a lot Jo

Guest medicator007

I have been a paramedic for the past 6 years now (gosh time flies) and I can tell you that it is some of the most rewarding and eye opening work that someone interested in medicine can do. Prior to my work I always had an interest in becoming a doctor and after my paramedic experience I came to understand what treating patients is all about.