Premed 101 Forums

I need help...

Chinty147

I'm really confused about research even though I'm halfway through 3rd year.

I want to e-mail professors about a summer position as an undergraduate research assistant. I have no experience however.

Do I have to find a supervisor before applying for a research award (like NSERC)? I also wanted to volunteer next semester so I was wondering if I could request a volunteer position and summer position in the same e-mail? (I really want the summer position, volunteering is to get experience under my belt)

Or should I e-mail separate labs for summer and volunteer positions?

Also, do professors actually pay students even if they don't get an award? What if I find someone but don't end up with the award? :confused:

from my days, you need a good set of grades and a prof that has the time and available work to give to an NSERC student. if the NSERC application doesn't go through and the prof doesn't have extra money in the lab to hire a summer student, you would have to work out some no-payment arrangement if the prof is willing to train you.

you should approach the profs whose work you're interested in and ask to join their lab for the summer. if they take you on and your nserc goes through, i'm sure they'd be happy to take you on on a volunteer bases the semester before the summer. i'd say that's you're best bet.

the guys with more experience should correct me if I'm wrong.

there's a thread in cerena's FAQs in the link up top.

I'm really confused about research even though I'm halfway through 3rd year.

I want to e-mail professors about a summer position as an undergraduate research assistant. I have no experience however.