Premed 101 Forums

2011-2012 Grades

Hello

A friend applied to OT just today and we noticed that the 2011-2012 that we enter as year 2012 doesn't let us enter grades even though she has received marks back from fall 2011 already. Did we do something wrong? Anyone know why this is the case?

Thank you!

Hello

I had heard that too. A stat we were told was that for Toronto, it's 4 OTs to 1 job. But I was one of the first to get a job in central Toronto actually. It helped that I knew an older OT who recommended me.

I worked in the auto sector for a year, which is where most of the job prospects are. Hospitals are more difficult, but if you're patient to take on temporary or part-time contract positions, each puts you higher and higher on the list to being permanent. I really wouldn't worry too much about the job situation, unless you're set on something very particular. I don't know anyone from my class that didn't find a job within about 4 months after school ended. Actually one person went to Sudbury believing he'd never luck out in Toronto, but my advice would suggest otherwise and be persistent. He regrets it.

One problem that we're not yet sure of how it will affect us is the changes to auto insurance Sept. 1st, 2010. Less rehab benefits available = less work for OT. My company started to feel the impact only this past summer making job security quite stressful.

Hope that's helpful!

Hi Corri,

Thanks for the helpful information!

I was wondering what the salary range is in the auto/ insurance sector? I have a pretty good idea about what OTs in hospitals make, but I never can find info on the private or auto insurance companies.

Also, do you happen to know any OTs you went to school with (who are Canadian) that went to go work in the states after graduation? and how that process works?

Hello