Premed 101 Forums

I need advice: Should I drop this course...

Hi. So I'm in my first year right now, and I've decided to take physics, even though it is not a program requirement of mine, to get some info and to help me with the MCATs. I really don't like physics, and I haven't taken it for 3 years before taking this course this semester. I've worked long and hard and spent so much time on it! I'm not kidding, I would spend several hours a day just learning physics concepts and solving question after question.

Unfortunately, I am not doing very well in the exams. I got a 50% on my first midterm (worth 10%), and I did my second midterm this past Saturday and I didn't do very well either (the prof released half of the mark I got 6/10, there is another 10% not yet released, but I'm sure I did worse in that one).

I don't want Physics to lower my GPA (and my time spent on it is also impacting my grades in other subjects) so I am considering dropping it (I can drop it before Sunday Mar. 26th, and it won't appear on my transcripts). But if I do, I risk losing U of T GPA weighting and I would have a semester that is not a full-credit semester, but is it really worth it? I mean I also know that other uni's (correct me if I'm wrong) like Queen's, Macmaster, Ottawa, and Western, mainly look at the final two years.

What do you guys think is the better decision? Drop it and have a semester that is not a full-load one which might raise question marks on my application, or keep it and make up for it in other subjects in the following years?

Thanks in advance.

Personally, I wouldn't drop because U of T can drop it (weighting), Queens and Western are final two and best two years respectively, Ottawa looks at your most recent 3 years but they weigh your most recent years heavier than the previous years, here is the formula: http://www.intermed.med.uottawa.ca/Students/MD/Admissions/eng/excellence_marks.html.