Premed 101 Forums

ENT from American medical school

Hello all,

I'm currently a Canadian about to graduate from an American medical school. I applied for ENT this past year and did not end up matching, likely due to the fact that I am not an American citizen and required visa sponsorship (I applied to 65 programs across the US and only received 6 interviews).

I go to a middle-tier medical school in the US. My preclinical grades are alright (mix of pass and honors). I have honored all my clinical rotations in 3rd year and my dean's letter had excellent comments in it. My board scores are strong (both over 240) and I was elected to AOA (top 15% of medical school class). With respect to research, I have two first-author publications and four oral/poster presentations, all in ENT. I also have strong letters of recommendation, all from ENT attendings.

At this time I plan on doing a clinical research fellowship for the coming year, and then reapplying to ENT this fall, both in the US and Canada. I was just wondering how difficult would it be to come back to Canada for residency? As a Canadian at a US medical school, I would be considered the same as a Canadian medical graduate, but would programs even consider me given all of the qualified candidates from Canadian schools? I will also likely not have a chance to do an away rotation at any programs in Canada. Is there any other way I can improve my chances?

Any advice would be more than appreciated. Thanks!

Hello all,

I'm currently a Canadian about to graduate from an American medical school. I applied for ENT this past year and did not end up matching, likely due to the fact that I am not an American citizen and required visa sponsorship (I applied to 65 programs across the US and only received 6 interviews).