Premed 101 Forums

2nd Degree for Engineers

What do you want the second degree for? If you just want to stay in school a bit longer you could consider a masters? Do you want it to be related to engineering? Why only 2 years? Maybe give us some more info so we know why you are asking :)

Also what was your engineering degree actually in :) Transfer credits are the way to go and it would depend on that!

Hi,

Thanks for replying :), my degree is in bioengineering, I'm trying to think of another degree that would give me enough transfer credits to finish in around 2 years? Most of the engineering degrees are really similar and it's hard to get alot of transfer credits other than doing another degree in engineering but I could probably finish that in 1 year, a program that has a higher class average would be great as well. Any suggestions would be great, thank you!

Are you doing it to try and bring up your GPA?

Hmmm I am in engineering at Western, and other than the common first year we have no overlapping courses between the disciplines, although it might be different at different schools. And if you are doing this to try and bring up your GPA I agree with you that eng might not be the best idea :rolleyes: It's hard without knowing more about your situation :P

With bioeng did you have to take some biology/chemistry/orgo courses? Could you get some credit for that and do some sort of biology or science degree? I know chem eng's at Western take orgo.

Otherwise I'm not exactly sure, eng is such a hard one because we have almost no outside electives. Science is kind of the next closest thing.

rmorelan - will Western or other school that calculate your GPA based on your best 2 years or last 2 years use marks from courses that were taken not towards a degree? i.e. if you get a degree, then go back for 2 more years and do really well, can you use those marks while still meeting the honours degree requirement? This is just for my own curiosity :P