Premed 101 Forums

Advice about Second Degree

Guest hopestar1023

Guest hopestar1023

Hi All,

First, I'd like to express thanks to everyone participates in this message board! The wealth of information found here is very helpful.

Now, I have a question about how to apply to med school with my situation. I'm currently a 4th year student in Computer Science. I recently realized how much I love medicine and health related subjects. I would love to be able to attend med school. However, I have not taken a full course- load for any of the years that I have been in University.

I am planning on doing a second degree. Many of my credits are transferable so I know that I could complete my second degree within two years if I take some summer courses. That means that I will have two years with full course loads.

(I'd rather not to a Masters program since after doing a Computer Science internship for 16 months, I realized that I do not care for any tech related jobs or research. )

My question is, is two years enough to apply for med school? Or do I have to do at least three years? I would like to be able to start Med school as soon as possible.

Also, what are some suggestions for volunteering? The hospitals that are close to me have mostly admin volunteer positions. And I quite enjoy volunteering with the homeless but am not sure if that is valuable in my application to med schools.

Thanks for all your help!

Guest Ian Wong

Heya,

The hardest part of applying to medical school is figuring out what you need to do, and then organizing a timeline to make it happen. The most important part about this process to get familiar with the pre-req requirements for each medical school. This includes any required courses, and any published cut-offs for GPA and MCAT scores. Therefore, your first course of action (assuming you haven't done this already), is to visit each medical school's website and familiarize yourself with their pre-req requirements.