Premed 101 Forums

Starting in September vs starting in January

Hello,

I am an international student and recently got done with my A Levels (British system). I applied to university of Saskatchewan and got accepted to college of Arts and Sciences. I could potentially get a whole year worth of credits because of my A levels, so I basically get to skip a whole year of university! If I decide to opt for a three year degree (90 credits) in Biology, does that mean that I can finish off university in two years? Now coming to my main question, will I have any problems later when applying to med and dental school if I choose to join the university in January instead of September keeping in mind that universities usually look for two years of undergrad and also state that the terms should extend from September to April? :confused:

90 credits = 3 years, not 2 years.

Will starting in January advance your interests? I don't think so as you apply in the fall anyways. I would go to university for the normal academic year, Sept - May. Keep it simple.

read up, I am getting credits for a whole year because of my A levels, won't that mean only two years for me as I would already have 30 transfer credits?

I would love to start uni in September too but it's kind of hard for my parents to pay the tuition in the next two months :P

Degrees are 4 years in every province of Canada, except Québec. So, if you have a year's worth of credits, you would have 3 years left :) That's how I did the maths, correct me if I'm wrong!

I'm talking about the second option on this page:

http://www.usask.ca/programs/arts_and_science/biology.html

Anyways, can you help answer my main question? would joining university in January instead of September hurt my chances of admission to dental or medical school?

I suggest you email adcoms of some med schools directly and get it from the horse's mouth.