Premed 101 Forums

Should I apply to the Carib (SGU)

toastman

Hey guys,

So I've been wondering if I should apply to the Caribbean or not. My sister is an SGU alum, and had great success going this route (although she is now an American citizen, and will probably stay there). The issue is she warns me about following in her foot steps, as she says the good days for the Carib are coming to an end. My parents recommend I apply just to keep my options open, but I think I would try here a few times before going the IMG route (and they support this decision), but I'm still unsure if I should I apply to SGU this year or not. My profile so far is that I'm a fourth year student, with a 3.95 OMSAS, (3.98 two best), 31Q (10, 9V, 12 Q), and SWOMEN. Should I bother with this SGU application or not? What do you guys think?

Thanks,

Stay toasty my friends.

Hey guys,

So I've been wondering if I should apply to the Caribbean or not. My sister is an SGU alum, and had great success going this route (although she is now an American citizen, and will probably stay there). The issue is she warns me about following in her foot steps, as she says the good days for the Carib are coming to an end. My parents recommend I apply just to keep my options open, but I think I would try here a few times before going the IMG route (and they support this decision), but I'm still unsure if I should I apply to SGU this year or not. My profile so far is that I'm a fourth year student, with a 3.95 OMSAS, (3.98 two best), 31Q (10, 9V, 12 Q), and SWOMEN. Should I bother with this SGU application or not? What do you guys think?

Thanks,

Stay toasty my friends.

You have a 3.95 omsas GPA, and a 31Q MCAT.. and you are thinking of going the Caribbean route.. Are you kidding me? Apply in Canada another cycle, then try for US MD schools and throw in a few DO schools. I don't see a scenario where you can't get into at least one school in the US or Canada.