Premed 101 Forums

question for my situation

Etude

Hi, I just have one question about the american school. I am currently doing second degree to raise my chance for medical schools. I finished my first degree with very low gpa (~2.2). Yet, I still could not give up my dream, and started second degree last year. The gpa for last year was around 3.8. I am expecting my gpa for this year will be about the same or even better than last year.

However, when I do the math for cGPA of both degree, the cgpa is just crap still. There is no way my cGPA will be high as other candidates unless I invest 15 more years on my undergrad :( (of course, with straight 4.0 gpa for all years). Now I am wondering if it is really worth considering state med schools. Should I apply next year cycle or abandon my dream and go for other career?

Thanks!

Hi, I just have one question about the american school. I am currently doing second degree to raise my chance for medical schools. I finished my first degree with very low gpa (~2.2). Yet, I still could not give up my dream, and started second degree last year. The gpa for last year was around 3.8. I am expecting my gpa for this year will be about the same or even better than last year.

However, when I do the math for cGPA of both degree, the cgpa is just crap still. There is no way my cGPA will be high as other candidates unless I invest 15 more years on my undergrad :( (of course, with straight 4.0 gpa for all years). Now I am wondering if it is really worth considering state med schools. Should I apply next year cycle or abandon my dream and go for other career?

Thanks!

2.2 will definitely be a problem. What degree are you pursuing right now? American medical schools will be a stretch; consider DO or Caribbean.

You will need a very high MCAT score, good clinical experiences, lots of research, and diverse extracurriculars.