Premed 101 Forums

Chronic back pain in clerkship and residency

Hi im a second year medical student going into clerkship this upcoming september.

I also have a chronic back pain (due to herniated disc from a sports injury) for about 1.5 years.

I suffer from back pain and sciatica to my left lower leg when i stand for more than an hour.

Did anyone had a similar chronic pain problem that limited your work during clerkship? How did your clerkship go?

Also, since I was told that this will likely become a life long chronic pain (accroding to my doc), am I limited from some specialities due to this condition?

Thanks !

Hi im a second year medical student going into clerkship this upcoming september.

I also have a chronic back pain (due to herniated disc from a sports injury) for about 1.5 years.

I suffer from back pain and sciatica to my left lower leg when i stand for more than an hour.

Did anyone had a similar chronic pain problem that limited your work during clerkship? How did your clerkship go?

Also, since I was told that this will likely become a life long chronic pain (accroding to my doc), am I limited from some specialities due to this condition?

Thanks !

Ouch! Hopefully it isn't as bad as all of that.

You can self limit yourself from some fields - if you are in great pain after standing for 1.5 hours would you really want to be the sort of surgeon that has to stand for 8 hours a day?

Any recognized medical condition is just worked around by clerkship programs. We had a few people in my program with different but similar issues in clerkship.

You probably want to start talking to them around now - I started talking to mine before we started making plans for clerkship so that the accommodations would be in place before any scheduling was done.