Premed 101 Forums

Do I have a high chance to get admitted to UQ or any other medical school?

Hi there

I am a recent MSc graduate from a program is consisted of both course work and research work. I have achieved 79% or 6.75/7 from my graduate study. But, my undergraduate gpa is only 73%. During my graduate study, I have two publication, and I have received a couple of research awards as well. And, I am planning to focus on my MCAT this year since I am working on my paper now. For possible future residency, I may go back to North America or Hong Kong since I am also from Hong Kong.

So, if I do really well on my MCAT, do you guys think that I may have some chances to get admitted?

Please feel free to leave some comments since I am making decision this year for doing MD or Phd.

THANKS

• 2 months later...

A bit late but I figured getting an answer later is probably better than no answer at all?

Anyways, admission to Australia is based mostly on MCAT scores with your GPA merely serving as a cut-off (so once you're over their requirement, they don't look at it anymore). To be safe, you should probably try to score a 30+.

Also, it is notoriously hard to secure residency or any medical job in Hong Kong as a foreign trained doctor. From what I've heard, pass rates for the HKMLE hover somewhere around 10% since the medical council board is trying to keep the number of foreign trained doctors in HK low.

I've heard some Australian grads end up going to Singapore for residency - any truth to that being a viable option?

The Australian medical degrees are highly regarded in Singapore. It is not uncommon for singaporian nationals to complete medical education in Australia and return after graduation. If you are asking about Canadian citizens. I am not sure. Although there are now ACGME accredited residency programs in Singapore (along with Qatar and UAE).

The Australian schools require foreign graduates to 1.) Be able to breath 2.) Have a pulse.