Premed 101 Forums

GPA upgrade suggestions?

Hi there,

I'm interested in applying for the PA program at Mac, but my GPA (2.96) is below the minimum cut-off of 3.0. I realize this gives me zero chance of being admitted.

I graduated from my undergrad (BScH in Biology) ten years ago and have a post-grad diploma in communications. I've been in the corporate world for the past six years, but I have always wished I had pursued a career in healthcare. I did work for a year after undergrad as an ophthalmic technician and while it wasn't the field I was interested in, I loved the daily patient interaction.

Any recommendations on courses I should take to upgrade my GPA? I realize would need to do very well in four full courses (one full-time year) to bring it up to 3.0. Given that there are no prerequisite courses for the PA program at Mac, are there any courses that would be looked at more favourably by the admissions committee?

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated! Thanks!

I don't believe they will favour any courses that you take in terms of admissions, but it would definitely be beneficial to take courses in biology, chemistry, anatomy, physiology, statistics, organic chemistry, and maybe physics. Considering that you did a BHcS in biology, you probably have many of these courses already. PA school will be much like med school in terms of learning style and courses, and so any of the prerequisites for the Canadian medical schools would be a good start to look at. They may give you some ideas of what courses you should take. These would make it easier to progress in the program at McMaster considering you will need to learn all of this from scratch in the program if you have no background coming in (which I would highly not recommend).