Premed 101 Forums

queries about course selection

Guest priyanka22

Guest priyanka22

hi,

i am a first year student.enrolled in the life sciences category at utm(university of toronto).i would like to pursue dental after my third year.but at present utm is not offering any predental course.ive been registered in the following subjects for the 1st year:

evolutionary and genetical biology,

chemistry-matter and transformations

general physics

math-calculus

english-genre and meeting

i want to know whether these subjects are appropriate and wht subjects shd i choose from my second year onwards

Guest jughead09

I suggest you look into the pre-requisites for each dental school you are interested in. For the most part, they all want Bio, Chem, Phys (full year, each with a lab component). Then Biochem, some want Microbio. Check dental websites, for both Can and US, depending on where you prefer to go. My advice is that you fullfill ALL required courses, then pursue other courses that INTEREST you, where you will most likely get awesome grades. You mentioned that you were taking English. Well, if you did well this year, continue with it. As long as your GPA is holding up, any other courses you take (in addition to the required ones) is fine. Dental schools want to see that you fullfilled the requrired courses and that you have a high GPA. Whatever other courses you choose is up to you...ie, basket weaving:b ...make sure you enjoy what you are studying.

Guest priyanka22

hi,

thanx for the reply one more thing id like to know.how shd i prepare for the DAT exam.like wht books n all shd i buy for preparation,when shd i give the xam.

Guest jughead09

Hi,