Premed 101 Forums

High yield public health resources for the LMCC

I studied the Toronto Notes as well as a couple chapters from the Shah book, and it was enough to do excellently on that section. I found a lot of people punted it altogether (devoting their time to studying other areas), but it really wasn't much of a time investment at all to do well on that section.

I studied the Toronto Notes as well as a couple chapters from the Shah book, and it was enough to do excellently on that section. I found a lot of people punted it altogether (devoting their time to studying other areas), but it really wasn't much of a time investment at all to do well on that section.

I just went over TNotes. It was enough. The Shah book is beyond horrible. You might as well read some sort of 400 page dry user manual. If you got enough time to read Shah I would suggest you spend more time celebrating being matched or something.

Read TNotes, it's all you need for all the high yield MCCQE topics.

That's stupid. It's a sixth of the entire exam. Easy marks that you can study for in a few hours.

Okay, the MCCQE exam is stupid. It is written horribly. But who cares as you will all pass it easily if you went to a Canadian medical school. I'm convinced this exam is just a money grab from the MCC...

The silly exam is 1/6 psych, 1/6 obs-gyne, 1/6 pediatrics, 1/6 ALL internal med, 1/6 ALL surgery, 1/6 public health/ethics

This means everything IM and surgery is mega low yield despite both being massive topics. So skim these ones...

Study peads, psych, obs-gyne like crazy. But don't go beyond the TNotes chapters in these areas. If you passed your core rotations then all you need is to review the TNotes chapters. Also review the TNotes chapters on public health and ethics.

Technically you should do just fine on the exam if this is all you decide to study.