Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Medical Schools and Summer Courses

Hi everyone!

I am currently in my second year of undergrad, and will begin my third year in September. Please take the time to read my post - I am very confused by everything.

Can anyone give me some information as to which medical schools count summer courses and which don't? I'm having a hard time finding this info on the medical school websites.

What I know so far:

Western Ontario - Doesn't count summer courses

UT?????

Queens?????

University of Alberta?????

U of Calgary?????

Ottawa University - Doesn't count summer courses

UBC - Counts summer courses

Also, what are my chances of getting into any of the med schools with my stats:

GPA weighted for U of T: 3.83, weighted - (on the low side, since I am OOP)

One last question: Can anyone get into Western's med school without an honours degree, but just a regular bachelor's degree?

UWO requires honors degree or equivalent, meaning you qualify to go for a Masters.

I believe U/O will count a summer course, if, for example, you need one more course to make your total courses for the year a full course load.

This is false.

A full-time academic year where the equivalent of four (4) full-year courses is taken is accepted and counted in the WGPA calculation only if the missing course/credit is completed either as an additional course within another academic year or as a summer course. Individual courses taken during a summer session are accepted for the credit value in this instance however the mark obtained is not counted in the calculation of the WGPA.

http://www.med.uottawa.ca/students/MD/Admissions/eng/eligibility_criteria.html

Hi everyone!

GPA weighted for U of T: 3.83 (predicted, after dropping 13 credits from my first two years at university) - (on the low side, since I am OOP)

Note that UofT will only drop the credits as long as you've had a full course load in all years and only if you're applying after your third year.