Premed 101 Forums

What does OSAP count as "income"?

Just looking over my OSAP application and realized I made a blunder.

For my 2012 income, I listed only my actual taxable income which I made off a part-time job. I was a graduate student and had a scholarship that paid me $17000 for the year but I did not list this as I went off my government tax return forms, which only had my actual job income. Comes to ~$2000

However, for the Jan 2013-August 2013 section, I listed both my job, TAing (I started TAing winter semester) AND my scholarship in there. When I was calculating this, I used my bank statements and it had the scholarship on there. So my total there is ~$15000. Of that, only $8000 is actual "income" while the rest is my government scholarship.

Which way is correct? Do I list my scholarship in my 2012 income? I'll be calling OSAP Monday to confirm. But I'm concerned when they do the "income verification" they will see the discrepancy and make me not qualify for OSAP! I read the warning on the site that misrepresenting income can cause you not to get OSAP. This was my first time doing this and it was an honest mistake. Anyone have any insight? I'm freaking out about it quite a bit!

ETA: Answered my own question. Scholarship would be considered income, so my 2012 income is actually $20000 NOT $2000!! If I call my financial aid office and explain the error (they can see the amount I stated matches my tax return exactly) will they be able to adjust my application with no penalties? It was a stupid mistake but I've caught it and want to change it now! I've already submitted signature pages, etc but have not heard anything back!

Just looking over my OSAP application and realized I made a blunder.