Premed 101 Forums

Hi guys,

I was wondering for those that have gone this. How early did you have to start studying for the MCCQE Part 1 exam? Do you need to take the summer after 3rd year to focus on it? like similar to the MCAT/USMLE (for US students)?

And do we need to know everything from first year med or is it more starting from 3rd year? and when do people write the MCCQE? do you choose whatever time you want like the MCAT? or it's one setting for all 4th Canadian students?

Thanks, sorry for all the questions

I studied for two weeks and this was over doing it.

The content is all clinical, no per-clerkship trivia for the most part. Most CMGs write it in the late spring just before finishing med school.

Wow, is it really that easy? I thought it's was like our version of the USMLE and that's intense.

So do you just register and take the exam whenever you feel like you are ready? or the school registers you?

Did you ever feel that you had to remember all the stuff we learn in year1/year2 during clerkships and beyond for any reason? or we can sort of just pass and forget for the basic stuff like in undergrad?

Wow, is it really that easy? I thought it's was like our version of the USMLE and that's intense.

So do you just register and take the exam whenever you feel like you are ready? or the school registers you?

Did you ever feel that you had to remember all the stuff we learn in year1/year2 during clerkships and beyond for any reason? or we can sort of just pass and forget for the basic stuff like in undergrad?

The stuff that really matters in preclerkship comes up again during clerkship. I never pulled out preclerkship notes to study or anything.

Maybe med school dependent, but I feel that if you passed your clerkship exams you should pass the MCCQE easily. Just brush up on the stuff you should already know. It is in my opinion a poorly written exam, but it is not a difficult exam for CMGs.