Premed 101 Forums

OSAP + Car

So my wife is a med student and I'm a resident.

My in-laws bought us a car for our wedding (new car worth ~35k), and we put the ownership under me and my wife's names. Now we made the possible mistake of "claiming" that car under our assets in our OSAP application and that caused her to get almost no OSAP this year.

I was wondering -- could we simply remove the car from our assets, telling them that it is a mistake? Do they have any ability to check our vehicle ownership (and for that matter, the value of the vehicle)? We are riddled in debt... they expect us to sell the car in order to be eligible for OSAP, which I find rather unattractive.

My in-laws bought us a car for our wedding (new car worth ~35k), and we put the ownership under me and my wife's names. Now we made the possible mistake of "claiming" that car under our assets in our OSAP application and that caused her to get almost no OSAP this year.

I was wondering -- could we simply remove the car from our assets, telling them that it is a mistake? Do they have any ability to check our vehicle ownership (and for that matter, the value of the vehicle)? We are riddled in debt... they expect us to sell the car in order to be eligible for OSAP, which I find rather unattractive.

no offence but in all honesty it is capital under your name, why should taxpayers further fund your education when you have an accessible route to funds?

I highly doubt they would accept a change, your assumed to check over your insertions before submitting.

It wasn't a mistake. You're asking whether you can lie to OSAP. I bought my car - which wouldn't have been anywhere close to $35k even new - with my LOC, which I suppose means that my net debt is slightly lower than my gross debt.