Premed 101 Forums

How important is research?

I know this is a bit early as I am a first year medical student, but I am currently interested in ENT. Having said this, I am also interested in a basic science research project, which is unrelated to the specialty in my mind. The research project at my home school actually requires 2 year commitments.

So here's my dilemma: While I want to pursue the research project, I have been told by others that field-specific research (i.e. ENT research in this case) is very important for competitive fields such as ENT.

Is this true? :confused:

Yes, it's true for small competitive fields such as ENT not necessarily because of what you will publish, but most importantly because of who you will work with.

PR, connections... one of the most importants aspects of a successful match in these specialties, and it will become more and more important as surgical residency positions will decrease in the close future

Yes, it's true for small competitive fields such as ENT not necessarily because of what you will publish, but most importantly because of who you will work with.

PR, connections... one of the most importants aspects of a successful match in these specialties, and it will become more and more important as surgical residency positions will decrease in the close future

Thanks for your reply.

So is it better off to do research in ENT? :(

I am interested in incorporating research into my future career - and there is a good basic science research project out there that interests me... :( Having said this, pursuing this research means that I will not be able to do any research in ENT during pre-clerkship.

I guess if I want something competitive, I would have to play the game :mad: