Premed 101 Forums

Rose colored glasses off ...

I remember as a premed how medical school seemed like a dream ... how great life would be once I got into medical school? I thought.

Much of first year is much like a dream. You have to pinch yourself every now and then amazed that you are living the realization of your dream of medical school and eventual practice as a physician.

Much of first year many of us felt like imposters, "Do we belong here?" ... in second year you have proven yourself to be able to handle preclerkship with some marks to prove your competence. However the romance of medical school, at least the preclerkship format, has faded for me.

Not sure how many years it has been like that but I recall the 2nd years having an exam in the new year necessitating holiday studying. I hoped it would change by 'my time' but here I am studying at 10:35 pm during my holiday break. The romance is over, the rosy colored glasses are off. I wonder what it must be like to be my brother who is playing some retro-NES and SNES games in the basement while I am trying to memorize the coagulation cascade or what it must be like to be my parents enjoying a day off watching 3 movies in a row while I am going over the principles of plasma transfusions.

Oh well, most of the time I find my journey wonderous but this holiday season I am not so enchanted with school. But I was reminded when hanging out with my best friend and his girlfriend, both teachers who were both contemplating career changes while I was perfectly happy with what I was going to become. Everything else just seemed uninteresting to me ... so perhaps I should get back into the books with more enthusiasm and wonder.

Beef

Thanks for the update Beef!

I don't know where in Northern Ontario you are currently but it's been very cold lately so studying isn't actually all that bad(as compared to a break where we've had nice weather, we've broken record lows the past few days in my hometown)